A series of unexpected events…

I woke up staring at white ceiling tiles, a cold, antiseptic white. I closed and reopened my eyes to see a complete stranger standing over me, dressed in a blue cotton shirt.

‘Where am I? What happened?’

‘You’re in Frenchay hospital; you were in a car accident…a head-on collision with a lorry’

A vague memory came back, a panicked fear that I had assumed was a bad dream, and the vivid image of the collision flashed before my eyes.

The paramedics, police, and the doctors had all expected there to be fatalities. The General Surgeon came up to the ward the next day and expressed his astonishment that I had survived the accident. All of us in the car had cheated death that day.

I remember reading a book when I was younger – ‘What Katy Did’ by Susan Coolidge, where the protagonist falls from a swing and breaks her back, a sudden unwelcome interruption that brings life as she knows it to a sudden halt.

I had never expected to break my back at the age of 24. Lying flat, staring at ceiling tiles, the fate of Katy, confined to her bed for two years, and unable to walk, filled me with dread. The list of my injuries was extensive, my x-rays impressive, and I faced three separate operations.

Yet Katy’s story doesn’t end there, the experience changes her attitudes and thought patterns, challenging her in new and different ways.

For me, the experience has inspired me to begin writing again, hence this blog. It has also taught me not to take things for granted any longer, from the most simple of everyday things, to the fact that I’m lucky to be alive.

Published in: on September 15, 2009 at 5:20 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hletters.wordpress.com/2009/09/15/hello-world/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

