Back to normality….

One of the most frustrating things about a long recovery is the lack of normality.

I have never had so many doctors’ appointments, taken so many painkillers or seen the inside of so many different hospitals.

It’s hard to get used to depending on others when I’ve been so used to having my own independence. It’s frustrating to suddenly find myself with a lack of freedom to go anywhere at any time, but instead finding myself at home, desperately avoiding the snares of daytime television for fear that watching it would cause me to lose brain cells.

I have a list of things to do that are designed to keep me busy and not lead to hours of boredom. Yet I still find myself jealous of others going out and leading active lives. I would love to go out to the gym, go out shopping, or even head into work day in day out.

Don’t get me wrong, for most of you the idea of lazing around at home would be wonderful. I just miss my independence.

I guess what I’m learning to look for in all this is the opportunity for change, for something new. When will I ever have months of thinking time again in my life?

Albert Einstein once said ‘In the middle of every difficulty lies opportunity’.

It may be a cliché, but that’s what I’m looking for.

Published in: on October 1, 2009 at 11:56 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hletters.wordpress.com/2009/10/01/back-to-normality/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

