A Year In A Paragraph

I’ve just been writing my entry for the family Christmas newsletter and have been trying to put my experiences this year into a paragraph. Previous years entries have usually contained academic achievements or descriptions of my various travels, but this year it presented more of a challenge. It’s always an interesting task, reflecting on the year that has passed, and looking forward to what lies ahead in the year to come.

How to express my feelings about the year I’ve had, in a way that will neither shock the various friends and acquaintances it will be mailed to, nor undermine the difficulties this year has presented? How to fit it all into one tiny paragraph?

In the end I compromised and wrote something that fell between the two extremes. Most people already know what happened; the overwhelming number of cards, presents and thoughtful messages I’ve received is a testimony to that.  Others will no doubt grasp the impact the accident has had from the entries the rest of my family members have written.

Still, it wasn’t an easy task; just reflecting on what happened made me think back to the weeks in hospital, the feelings of fear and frustration, and the ongoing difficulties it has presented. Then I remembered the fantastic messages of encouragement I have received from friends and family all over the world, their prayers and kindness. If I can get through this challenge with their help and support, I have nothing to fear about what next year will bring.

Published in: on December 2, 2009 at 1:47 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hletters.wordpress.com/2009/12/02/a-year-in-a-paragraph/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I would hope that above all else, this year has helped you realise how much all your friends and family deeply care and love you.x

  2. I cannot wait to see you for festive celebrations and help you celebrate the start of a new year and all of the inevitable success it will bring you x x x


Leave a Reply

