Flashback No.5

I just saw two cars hit each other on the turning outside my house. It was just a bump and the drivers calmly swapped insurance details and examined the damage before driving off. It was the sudden sound of crunching metal that made me jump and look up. My heart won’t stop racing.

I did wonder how I would feel if I saw another car accident. I wondered if my memories would all come flooding back. I feared it.

I’ve noticed in the recent months how much horrific car accidents feature in the media. I don’t mean in the news, but on films, and TV dramas. I was eating my breakfast watching a TV series this morning when the characters were involved in a head on collision. Perhaps it’s a dramatisation of our worst fears.

Perhaps I just notice it more because it’s happened to me. I think I’ve just realised that it’ll never go away, but I hope the fear might begin to subside.

Published in: on February 26, 2010 at 4:04 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://hletters.wordpress.com/2010/02/26/flashback-no-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

